Board of Directors

The India Basin Neighborhood Association is managed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors, elected by members. Each Board member serves a three-year term. Seats that become vacant between elections may be filled by a vote of the Board. The Board of Directors meets once a month via Zoom. If you are interested in joining the Board or attending a Board meeting, please use the Contact form.

IBNA Seeks Board Members

If you are interested in really getting to know what’s going on in the neighborhood, meeting other concerned community members, and helping shape the future of India Basin, please consider volunteering for the Board of Directors. The commitment is 4 hours a month. There are 1-, 2-, and 3-year terms available. If you are interested in joining the Board, please use the Contact form.

Jill Fox
Newsletter & Treasurer

When Jill Fox moved to India Basin in 1992, what are now Heron’s Head and India Basin Shoreline Parks were junk yards where people and dogs lived in cars, and plans were being made to put a power plant on the flats off of Fitch Street. Then, the neighbors started getting together to create a common goal for a better neighborhood. Community activism has already made ours a more livable neighborhood and can continue to assure responsible development. Jill is a wife and mom. A founding member of the India Basin Neighborhood Association, she has represented the neighborhood on the Shipyard RAB, PROSAC, Blue Greenway Task Force, and Equity Development Plan Leadership Committee.

Bill Gilbert
Bill Gilbert is a native San Franciscan who grew up in the Bayview. He served in the San Francisco Police Department for 30 years, retiring at the rank of Captain. Familiar with India Basin since he was a kid, he dreamed of someday owning the Albion Castle. He made his dream come turn when he purchased it in 2012. Bill is an avid horseman and past handball and boxing champ. He is a member of the San Mateo Mounted Patrol, Rancheros Vista Dore, and San Mateo County Elks. He and his wife Lee Ann live in Woodside and have 5 children, 11 grandchildren, and 4 great grandchildren.
Lee Ann Gilbert
Lee Ann Gilbert is a native San Franciscan who attended local Catholic schools and graduated from San Francisco State University. She has co-owned the historic Albion Castle since 2012. In her varied professional and serial volunteer careers she founded a nursery school, worked in the forensic alcohol lab, was a Juvenile Hall Group Supervisor, coached youth sports, and rescued dogs and cats. Lee Ann and Bill have been married for 57 years; live in Woodside; and have 5 children, 11 grandchildren, and 4 great grandchildren. They also grow grapes and make wine, grow olives and make olive oil, grow organic walnuts and vegetables, raise cows, and run two restaurants.
Max Khusid
Communications & Secretary
Max spent the first 20 years of his professional career in the world of technology. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University, worked for several Silicon Valley startups, and is a proud Apple alumnus as well. For the next 20 years, he is diving into the unknown and immeasurable world of art. He is amazed at what artists can do, mesmerized by their imagination and creativity. In 2018, inspired by the Shipyard artists' collective, the stunning beauty of the San Francisco Bay, and the neighborhood's rich history, Max decided to make India Basin his home. Max is passionate about art and public art in our community, public gardens in the sunniest part of San Francisco and multiple public parks developed here. 

Former Board Members

Kate Austin-Gröen
David Austin-Gröen
Wendy Brummer
Cab Covay
Founding Chair
Anietie Ekanem
Kristine Enea
Former Chair
Alan Frazier
Tori Freeman
Forest Gray
Michael Hamman
Former Chair
Sean Karlin
Richard Laufman
Steve LaPlante
Monica Padilla-Stemmelen
Pauline Peele
Melita Rines
Former Chair
Staci Selinger
Sue Ellen Smith
Former Chair
David Springer
Brian Stott
Robert Van Houten
Ingrid Wynn